Plants





Plants

Wild Plant - Garden Plants - Indoor Plants - Bonsai Trees

Tropical Plants - House Plants - Saltwater Plants - Greenhouse Plants






Flowering Plants. Monocots

RRP $460.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

This volume is the outcome of a modern phylogenetic analysis of the grass family based on multiple sources of data, in particular molecular systematic studies resulting from a concerted effort by researchers worldwide, including the author. In the classification given here grasses are subdivided into 12 subfamilies with 29 tribes and over 700 genera. The keys and descriptions for the taxa above the rank of genus are hierarchical, i.e. they concentrate upon characters which are deemed to be synapomorphic for the lineages and may be applicable only to their early-diverging taxa.

Beyond the treatment of phylogeny and formal taxonomy, the author presents a wide range of information on topics such as the structural characters of grasses, their related functional aspects and particularly corresponding findings from the field of developmental genetics with inclusion of genes and gene products instrumental in the shaping of morphological traits (in which this volume appears unique within this book series); further topics addressed include the contentious time of origin of the family, the emigration of the originally shade-loving grasses out of the forest to form vast grasslands accompanied by the switch of many members to C4 photosynthesis, the impact of herbivores on the silica cycle housed in the grass phytoliths, the reproductive biology of grasses, the domestication of major cereal crops and the affinities of grasses within the newly circumscribed order Poales.

This volume provides a comprehensive overview of existing knowledge on the Poaceae (Gramineae), with major implications in terms of key scientific challenges awaiting future research. It certainly will be of interest both for the grass specialist and also the generalist seeking state-of-the-art information on the diversity of grasses, the most ecologically and economically important of the families of flowering plants.


Growing Healthy Houseplants

RRP $12.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

This concise guide shows novice houseplant owners exactly how to keep indoor plants alive and healthy. Gardening expert Ellen Zachos helps you choose the right plants in the first place and then shows you how to care for them, outlining what each kind needs in terms of location, sunlight, water, and fertilizer. She also explains when plants should be repotted (and how to do that successfully), how and when to prune them, how to keep them clean of dust and pets, and more. This Storey Basics® guide has all the information you need to keep any houseplant thriving and beautiful!

About the Author

Ellen Zachos is a professional gardener and proprietor of Acme Plant Stuff, a garden and houseplant maintenance company. She is also the author of several books, including Backyard Foraging, Tempting Tropicals, Orchid Growing for Wimps, and Down & Dirty. She lives in New York City and Shohola, Pennsylvania.


Lacey's House

RRP $23.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

Winner of the 2012 Luke Bitmead Bursary 'A moving, sensitively written novel by a writer who has a magical way with words.' --Maureen Lee 'Authentic and intensely heartfelt...There is something in this novel for every woman.' --Ruth Dugdall Lacey Carmichael leads a solitary life. To her neighbours she is the mad old woman who lives at the end of the lane, crazy but harmless. Until she is arrested on suspicion of murder. When Rachel Moore arrives in the village, escaping her own demons, the two women form an unlikely bond. Unravelling in each other tales of loss and heartache, they become friends. Rachel sees beyond the rumours, believing in her innocence, but as details of Lacey's life are revealed, Rachel is left questioning where the truth really lies. Prize-winning poignant novel about love and loss. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell


Spices, Plantation Crops, Medicinal And Aromatic Plants

RRP $328.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

This book is a single hand source book which deals with all aspects and facts of Spices, Plantation Crops, Medicinal and Aromatic Plants which may meet the requirements of all those who are pursuing their interest in any fields related to spices, medicinal plants, aromatic plants etc. Along with students who are preparing themselves for the RF, SRF, NET, Ph.D., ARS, and other competitive examinations. The book has been divided into major sections covering more than 200 crops on: o Spices and Condiments o Plantation Crops o Medicinal and Aromatic Plants Within depth knowledge and information on below given topics of more than o Importance and technical Information o Crop Improvement o Crop Production o Crop Protection o Diseases and Insect Pest Management o Post Harvest Technology



Search

Plants Articles

Wild Plant Garden Plants Indoor Plants Bonsai Trees
Tropical Plants House Plants Saltwater Plants Greenhouse Plants
Flower Plants Outside Plants

Plants Books

Wild Plant Garden Plants Indoor Plants Bonsai Trees
Tropical Plants House Plants Saltwater Plants Greenhouse Plants
Flower Plants Outside Plants

Plants